The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

£3.995
FREE Shipping

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

RRP: £7.99
Price: £3.995
£3.995 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

There are one or two things which do not fit: for example daffodils and roses rarely flower at the same time, and at one point Lizzie is ‘standing as if about to give birth’, which seemed an odd phrase to use. Simone likes to share her love for environmental art, and bring life to characters within their worlds. I bought the physical copy of the book myself as it was shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize. Her father is to play Othello, a character in a play by William Shakespeare – he is the first Black man to do so, making it a momentous performance in history. Its originality and freshness comes from the way that real history and historical characters are cleverly incorporated into the story, putting Black history firmly at the centre.

I can’t be the only one who’s been yearning for something to fill the Murder Most Unladylike/Sinclair Mysteries hole in my reading heart since those series came to an end, so I know I won’t be the only one latching. Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton, Bridgerton fashion and inspired by real Black British historical figures. Now it is time for Lizzie and Belle to put their sleuthing skills to the ultimate test, following a trail of thefts, kidnappings and even poisonings that haunts the twisting London streets. However, when Lizzie and Belle were delivering their speech at the theatre, I found it quite sad when some people started to walk out. But when they catch each other’s eyes at the theatre one night, each is delighted to see another Black girl her own age.When something life-threatening happens, Lizzie and Belle quickly realise that there’s something more to this case. At the start of the book, the event happened in a fast-paced way – the chandelier fell almost immediately. The support and passion within the Black community (and Lizzie’s own family) is brilliantly depicted, shot through as it is with sadness about their brothers and sisters who are still in slavery. Lizzie’s father is almost killed and the girls feel it is their duty to find out who tried to kill him.

A thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven’s Murder Most Unladylike .Wilkins already knew about them and knew that they knew too much already, so he broke into the Kenwood house and stole all their case notes. We would recommend using the book Black and British: An Illustrated History by David Olusoga alongside this text. Thirdly, Belle’s house, which is a massive mansion of a place which -despite its size – is quite bare of people. I believe that I was in the wrong mindset when I first read this book, being slightly taken aback by the style of writing; evidently it was made for a younger audience.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop