Date with Evil: A delightfully witty and charming mystery set in the Yorkshire Dales: 8 (The Dales Detective Series, 8)

FREE Shipping

Date with Evil: A delightfully witty and charming mystery set in the Yorkshire Dales: 8 (The Dales Detective Series, 8)

Date with Evil: A delightfully witty and charming mystery set in the Yorkshire Dales: 8 (The Dales Detective Series, 8)

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods


The ongoing story of Delilah's ex husband Neil reclaiming her beloved dog Tolpuddle does come to a malodious ending - I guess we all saw how Samson was going to save Tolpuddle way before Samson, but it was set up neatly, and almost didn't work. The Dales Detective series is set in the fictional Dales village of Brunscliffe which is based on Settle. She is also the author of the Dales Detective series which follows the adventures of Samson O'Brien and Delilah Metcalfe as they solve cases in the Yorkshire Dales. Her first series of books, the Fogas Chronicles, were written while she was running an auberge in the French Pyrenees with her husband.

Thing She had had to flee her brute of a dad Carl Thornton, who was coming home drunk, and beating his wife Marian. This latest instalment had the now expected mix of mystery, comedy and acutely observed village life.Mrs Hargreaves is the local butcher, Clive Knowles a hopeless local farmer living in squalor (he wants Dee's Dales Dating Agency to find him a wife - some hope), and Pete Ferris a local poacher. Great descriptions of the landscape, characters and the shenanigans of the locals who inhabit her pages. Later pensioner Clarissa says Stuart did not take the photo - it's an old one taken before the terrible tsunami damage. Frank is the son of ex Chief Super Gabrial Thistlethwaite, who was Samson's monitor when Samson was a local bobby. Amazingly, it all sort of works after a fashion, but not before Joseph is kidnapped and needs to be rescued at the Rainsrigg Quarry climax.

The narration is so good and she’s kept all the same character voices all the same through the series too. However, although the crimes initially seem minor, we soon find that something very serious is going on in the Dales and the book has some very dark scenes. Usually I am confident about just jumping into an ongoing mystery series as authors will provide background for readers new to the series. Samson O'Brien is an ex undercover Met policeman who was falsely accused of stealing and selling drugs on the black market, and his boss, the only man he trusts, DI Frank Warren told him to get out of London.Only problem is the next book isn’t released until April next year and because of all the well explained references to previous stories I don’t think starting at the beginning of the series will work.

It’s hard to know which crackles with energy more, the various explosions and fires or their chemistry. Even though the reader can guess for fitting conclusions, it is so skillfully written to keep the suspense until the final pages. There are two very strong main characters, Royal Enfield motor bike owning Samson O'Brien now running the local Dales Detective Agency, and his soon to be formalised business partner Delilah (Dee) Metcalfe, who is also his landlord. I would liken this book and indeed the series to a boiled sweet with a soft centre but a hard shell.She’s confident that this is a great move that is going to help her make some money and finally start getting those ends to meet. Delilah, now a full partner in the Detective Agency, has installed CCTV to find out who / whose dog is persistently fouling the doorstep of Hargreaves, the local butcher. Samson makes it up with his now sober father, and could opt for a good life in Brunscliffe, but he reminds himself he is only lying low for six months.

  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns


Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop